Tolle Lege!

 

Tolle Lege!

I struggle with the Kindle, I have to admit, but boy do I want one – at least, sometimes. Other times I am perfectly happy with not having one at all because I enjoy holding a book in my hand and I especially love the way they look on the shelf. There they are, friends old and new, those who are alive and those who have been dead for 1500 years all waiting to speak to me. There seems to be an element of communion with a book that I find missing when I read something on a screen (yes, I know that I am posting this for you to read on a screen), but the Kindle fascinates me. The thought that one may take his library anywhere is amazing and the cost of ebooks compared to the real thing – well there is no comparison. Nevertheless, I didn’t receive a Kindle for Christmas and I am completely fine with that. I did receive about 40 volumes of actual shelf books from my wife’s parents, for which I am very thankful. I haven’t felt that way on Christmas morning since childhood; it was incredible. Thank you Mr. Terry and Mrs. Tanya.

Here’s the list:

  • The Major Works of Anselm of Canterbury
  • Christ’s Churches Purely Reformed: a Social History of Calvinism by Phillip Benedict
  • Always Reformed (a festschrift in honor of Bob Godfrey)
  • Word, Water, and Spirit: a Reformed Perspective on Baptism by J.V. Fesko
  • Introverts in the Church by Adam S. McHugh
  • Instruments in the Redeemer’s Hands by Paul Tripp
  • John Calvin’s Commentaries (22 Volumes) with the Institutes of the Christian Religion
  • The Complete Works of Plato
  • The Complete Works of Aristotle
  • Foundations of Christian Education by Louis Berkhof and Cornelius Van Til
  • The Defense of the Faith by Cornelius Van Til
  • Herman Bavinck’s Reformed Dogmatics (4 Volumes – in English!)
  • Biblical Theology by Geerhardus Vos
  • The New International Greek Testament Commentary on Revelation by G.K. Beale

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

