Episode #5: Introduction to the Five Points of Calvinism

What are the five points of Calvinism? Who was John Calvin? Are these teachings biblical? What is their significance and what is at stake with these doctrines? These are the questions we try and answer on episode five of Hamilton’s Flame.

Listen Now or right click and save to download

icon for podbean

  1. #1 by R.Bush on May 6, 2011 - 6:01 pm

    Well episode 5 has left me look fowrd to episode 6. help this starving man find some bread, maybe a book to help along the way of understanding. Many things you men talked on has been in my heart for a long while not knowing what to do with these thoughts I just dismissed them, but them continue to resurface? I think the Spirit has something for me to learn, please suggest a book for this babe in the reform theology who needs a light for the path. thanks

  2. #2 by Joshua Hinson on May 6, 2011 - 10:40 pm

    The first books that come to mind are Chosen by God and What is Reformed Theology, both by RC Sproul. Michael Horton has a book called Putting Amazing Back into Grace that I think is an introduction to the subject. I have an extra copy of a little book called the five dilemmas of Calvinism which seeks to answer common objections. I would be glad to send it to you if you want to give me an address. I think you will find a smooth and pastoral feel to these books. If you are looking for something more in depth, a Reformed Systematic Theology would be good to get a hold of.

    It is good to hear from you and I hope all is well in Montana. Glad to see you guys finally got there!

    And thanks for listening!
    Praying,
    Josh

  3. #3 by Jesse Pickett on May 6, 2011 - 11:06 pm

    Bro. Bush,
    So good to hear from you. I’m truly thrilled to hear you asking some of the same questions I grappled with as the Lord was bringing me to the Reformed Faith. I don’t know how much exposure you have had to podcasts, but I have found the White Horse Inn to be extremely helpful. I think Josh has a link to it on our home page. Aunt Darlene has filled me in on God is doing in Montana with you guys, and we are THRILLED with what we have heard. May the Lord continue to use you and Mrs. Brenda for the expansion of His Kingdon. We love you guys!

  4. #4 by Jason Schulhauser on May 8, 2011 - 9:48 pm

    “It cannot be overemphasized that we have not seen the full meaning of the cross until we have seen it as the Divines of Dort display it- as the center of the Gospel, flanked on the one hand by total inability and unconditional election, and on the other by irresistible grace and final preservation. Christ died to save a certain company of helpless sinners upon whom God had set His free saving love. Christ’s death ensured the calling and keeping- the present and final salvation- of all whose sins He bore. That is what Calvary meant, and means.” – J.I. Packer Great job guys, keep up the good work! Sola Fide Sola Scriptura Solus Christus Sola Gratia Soli Deo Gloria….

    • #5 by Joshua Hinson on May 9, 2011 - 12:01 am

      Thanks a lot, Jason. That’s a great quote.

      • #6 by Jesse Pickett on May 9, 2011 - 1:19 am

        Wow Jason,
        Maybe you should take my place on the podcast!

Leave a Reply

